The Book of Romans

The Book of Romans

Paul wrote this grand declaration of Christian theology to declare the full meaning of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and just as importantly, the effect of that Gospel on our standing and relationship with God.  The theme verses are found in Romans 1:16-17:  “I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of 
God for the salvation of everyone who believes; first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.  For in the gospel righteousness from God is revealed, a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: ‘The righteous will live by faith.’”  The concept of righteousness is a major truth for Paul in Romans.  The noun “righteous” occurs 34 times.  And with variations of this word, it is used all told, 64 times in the book alone!

Key Chapters in Romans:

Of course they are all important, but Romans 3-5 contains the full theology of justification by grace through faith in Christ apart from the works of the Law.  Chapters 6-8 contain some of the most foundational passages on how to experience God’s deliverance from the power of sin, utilizing not only our standing with Christ, but also the power of the Holy Spirit.  And Romans 8:31-39 contain soaring affirmations of the love of Christ.

Here is an abbreviated outline of Romans:

I.                    Introduction (1:1-17)

II.                  Condemnation:  the need of Righteousness because of sin (1:18-3:20)

III.                Justification: The Imputation of God’s Righteousness through Christ (3:21-5:21)

IV.                Sanctification: The Impartation and Demonstration of Righteousness (6:1-8:39)

V.                  Vindication:  Jew and Gentile, the scope of God’s Righteousness (9:1-11:36)

VI.                Application: the practice of Righteousness in Service (12:1-15:13)

VII.              Personal messages and benediction (15:14-16:27)

"Ministering to the pastors of Africa"